Bangalore Training Institute Blogspot is an Online Platform for Project Management related courses like: PMP. ITIL, PRINCE2, Six Sigma, Business Analytics etc..

Tuesday, 13 January 2015

ITIL Certification Exam – Its qualification scheme and prospect

10:47 Posted by Pradeep K , , 3 comments
Information Technology Infrastructure Library or ITIL is normally a library of various terminologies and practices that is required in service management of IT. The practices for the same have been categorized under five volumes known as core publications. These are: 
  • To gather customer requirements
  • To design and implement IT service
  • Service transition
  • Service operation
  • To monitor and improve the service
Bangalore Training - ITIL Certification and Exam

ITIL came up with the aim of providing better IT services and quality utilization of advancements in IT. It was coined in the year of 1980 by Central Computer and Telecommunications of Britain. By the year 1990, GITIM or Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management was adopted by many large companies across Europe. After 1990, as many other countries started adopting the books and management of ITIL, many versions came up based on the updates. The latest update was made in the year 2011. 

The Qualification Scheme
ITIL Qualification Scheme has five levels as under mentioned: 
  • ITIL Foundation Level
  • ITIL Intermediate Level
  • ITIL Managing Across the Lifestyle
  • ITIL Expert
  • ITIL Master
The very first level in the certification course for ITIL is the ITIL Foundation Level. This level trains the candidates the basics of IT service management. It deals with various concepts and terminologies of IT service management. 

After the training, there is an exam of 1 hour where the candidates have to answer 40 multiple choice questions. This exam can be online or offline and the total passing marks have to be 65%. 

After the Foundation course, the candidate is qualified for the next level that is the ITIL Intermediate Level. This level is divided into two streams and candidates can select either of them. The two streams are Lifecycle and Capability. These two streams again have further 5 modules of 3 credits each and 4 modules of 4 credits each respectively. Lifecycle stream is divided into
  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement
The divisions of Capability stream are:
  • Planning, protection and optimizing
  • Service offerings and agreement
  • Release, control and validation
  • Operational support and analysis
This level can have both online and offline exam of 1 hour and 30 minutes in which the candidate has to answer 8 scenario based questions. 70% is the total passing mark for the test.

The third level is the ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle. This module has 15 credits and in addition to that there are more 2 credits from the Foundation level. The main concept in this level remains the application of ITIL knowledge. A person needs to pass this level in order to take training in ITIL Expert Level. 

There are total of 22 credits for this level among which credits are from the ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle Level. The candidates will get trained and will pass the test of applying their skillful knowledge of ITIL in the management. 

After they have successfully achieved the ITIL Expert Level, they can now go ahead for the ITIL Master Level.

Skillogic is one of the best institute for ITIL Training in Bangalore / Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Pune, Mumbai, Hyderabad,  etc. Visit and schedule your training classes.